Big Christmas day

Posted: December 25, 2004 in Uncategorized

Well, the Orphan’s party last night was a blast. Not many people showed up, but lots of food DID show up. Jeni made a huge pot of chicken soup, we still had clam dip for the Ruffles, our neighbor Linda brought over a shrimp tray (and a beautiful bowl gift of munchies as a present), homemade chocolate chip/raisin cookies and homemade fudge. Jeff showed up from California and brought his mom…she made this really good spread for chips. Great bread (rosemary garlic sourdough). Multiple flavors of beer and wine…I started with an Arrogant Bastard Ale, moved on to IPA, then ESB. Finished with a glass of great merlot.

Jackie and Karl showed up with a rescue Greyhound. She’s black with a puff of white on her chest, 17 months old, third of her litter…and a bow on her collar. They presented her as a "gift" for me. Color me stunned. She was very docile, spent most of the evening just laying down on the living room floor while we opened gifts. Of course, I’m finally told that I don’t have to accept her as a gift, it was mostly just for a joke on me, but I must say it was a little tempting…but I’m a black lab kinda guy.

Anyway, slept in a little this morning, having coffee and blogging (what’s wrong with me that I can’t get away from my keyboard for anything?). Sanju sent me a wink right after I logged on, haven’t IM’d with her in months. It’s still pisses me off how we simply jetisoned so many people last year, Sanju was one of our brightest n00bs on the team, and got along with everybody really well…she had a ton of potential to be one of our best.

Well, gonna get the shoes on, head to the mum-in-law’s house and open gifts…and eat more food. Hopefully, nobody will mind if we turn on the Kobe/Shaq fued at noon (oh, who the hell am I kidding…)

Leave a Reply

