Getting pissed with TV

Posted: September 4, 2005 in Uncategorized
It all started about 10 or 12 years ago. Some of the networks started placing a station identification logo in the bottom-right corner of the screen. I remember the first one TBS did…it was a bright yellow, it wasn’t translucent/opaque, and it took up about 15% of the real-estate! I actually wrote them a letter thanking them for totally ruining my movie watching experience because I couldn’t see the action, and every single sub-title was obscured.
 
Well, they got soon a newer one, I think it was about a month after I bitched. But now every station does it. Some still worse than others: I just tried watching a widescreen presentation of EP6 on CBUT, but their logo was still large enough to successfully obscured all of Jabba’s lines!
 
Lately they’ve done us one worse: on-air advertisement banners that ONLY occur during the show, obscure at least 20% of the screen, and is accompanied by sound-destroying audio events! It’s worse than the fucking internet!
 
And when I’m channel flipping, I have little idea which channel I’ve just surfed to if there is a commercial playing. You would think they would want us channel flippers to know this same info no matter what so that we might be enticed to stay on their network, but noooOOOooo. They can’t ruin the commercials, only the actual programming.
 
Is it any wonder I have over 300 movies in my lazer/DVD collection, and watch only a couple of network programs on a regular basis?
 
/end rant
Leave a Reply

