Yay, System Restore!

Posted: April 5, 2007 in Uncategorized
The automatic update from MS kicked in yesterday, and blew away my TV tuner card (a Compro VideoMate Gold+, 500 series). No mo’ TV. So I went to System Restore, reverted to Monday’s save, and I got my TV back. No, I made no updates to my machine since the weekend (and those were just system tweaks, primarily TweakUI…those are all still "tweaked"). I don’t know what else might have been screwed by this update (and I don’t really care…now), but there are widespread complaints that the "emergency" release has wreaked a wee-bit of havoc.
 
I’ve only needed System Restore twice, but man…both times it saved me hours of anguish investigating, uninstalling, re-installing, etc.
 
In the meantime, automatic install of automatic updates has been disabled. Thank goodness I disabled updates on my MCE machine several months ago…
Leave a Reply

